• Event Submission

  • Investment in the Henry County Chamber of Commerce is not deductible as a charitable contribution but may be deductible as an ordinary and necessary business expense. 98% of dues are deductible as an ordinary and necessary business expense.

  • Henry County Commission Chair-Elect Carlotta Harrell Announces Transition Team

    Incoming Henry County Commission Chair Carlotta Harrell has named a 30-person transition team to help guide the new administration as she prepares to take office on December 16th. 

    The team includes 30 community leaders, consisting of current and former elected officials, local business owners and executives, and non-profit administrators. The group was thoughtfully assembled to offer diverse and informed viewpoints as the administration weighs its policy priorities as well as possible structural reform recommendations. 

    “Henry County is changing a great deal. Our demographics are shifting. The County and Southern Crescent region are experiencing tremendous growth,” said Harrell. “That’s why it was critical to get the makeup of this team just right. We will chart a bold, deliberate course forward and we need the best minds in the room to help do that. But we must also be careful not to run before we can walk; or, in our haste to achieve change, ignore wisdom gleaned from the past. To do that, we need to hear from everyone. And I believe that through this group, we will.”

    Harrell said that she asked the group for input in identifying models from around the country that Henry County might learn from as they take up challenges, particularly in the areas of community policing models, innovative economic development, and quality of life improvements. 
    “As someone who has served with both the Georgia Bureau of Investigation as well as the Henry County Police Department, public safety is always front of mind for me,” said Harrell. “A primary focus will be strengthening the bonds of trust between the community and our officers.”

    Harrell, a small business owner and former law enforcement officer of 20 years, was elected with nearly 59% of the vote in this month’s general election. She defeated incumbent Republican June Barnes Wood in the race. 
    Transition Team in Full:
    Pam Bettis, Henry County Solicitor
    Alex Cohilas, City of Hampton
    David Curry, State Revenue Commission
    Mary E. Davis, Henry County Schools
    Preston Dorsey, City of McDonough
    Brett Embry, Geosam Capital US
    Lindy Farmer, Henry County Water Authority
    Ebony Gurndy, Bank of America
    Dr. Lily Henson, Piedmont Henry Hospital
    Warren Holder, Former Henry County Commissioner
    Toni Holmes*, WeAreHR, LLC
    Brandon Hutchinson, Atlanta Motor Speedway
    Randy Knighton, City of Stockbridge
    Ryan M. Larosa*, Medical Association of Georgia
    Dana Lemon, Georgia Department of Transportation
    David Linton, Henry County Development Authority
    Rosa Marroquin, Georgia Power
    Kenyatta Mitchell, HNTB
    Brandeis Parkman, Ohio River South
    Darius Pattillo, Henry County District Attorney
    Adam Price, Falcon Design Consultants
    Dawn Randolph, Georgia State University
    Richard Ray, Worker’s Compensation Advisory Board
    Reginald Scandrett, Sheriff-Elect
    Ariel Shaw, Southern Crescent Women in Business
    W. Murphy Talmadge*, Barnes & Thornburg LLP
    Marcia G. Taylor, Bennett Companies
    Dr. Alvetta P. Thomas, Southern Crescent Technical College
    Andy Welch, Smith, Welch, Webb, & White
    Tim Young, City of Locust Grove

    *denotes Co-Chair

  • Upcoming Events